HRIS Software 23 min read

Workday vs SAP SuccessFactors: Enterprise HCM Cost Compared

Workday vs SAP SuccessFactors is rarely a features argument once you get past 1,000 employees — both platforms cover core HR, workforce data, and.

Michael Rodriguez Michael Rodriguez 23 min read
Workday vs SAP SuccessFactors: Enterprise HCM Cost Compared — comparison guide, HROpsLab

A Workday vs SAP SuccessFactors decision is almost never settled on licence price, and committees that run it as a per-seat bake-off usually pick wrong. Neither vendor publishes a rate card, both discount heavily against a list price nobody outside the room ever sees, and both will hand you an implementation invoice capable of exceeding the software it configures. What follows is the arithmetic at three realistic headcounts, the thresholds where pricing behaviour actually changes, and the points where the reported figures contradict each other badly enough that you should not budget from them.

TL;DR

  • Choose SAP SuccessFactors if the job is core HR at scale and you can hold module count down. Employee Central is reported at $6-8 per employee per month, negotiating to $4.50-6.00 above 5,000 employees — roughly a third to a half of Workday's reported delivered rate of $14-28 PEPM. Every one of those figures is a reported estimate, not a published price.
  • Choose Workday if a unified finance-and-HR data model is a board-level requirement, not a preference. That is the one capability the cheaper option cannot be configured into after the fact.
  • Budget implementation before you budget licence. Workday implementations are reported at 100-150% of the annual subscription. SuccessFactors implementations are reported at $100,000-$500,000 for 500-2,000 employees on the full suite — a range that moves almost independently of how much licence you buy.
  • Target 40% off Workday list, not 30%. The widely quoted $14-28 delivered band is precisely list ($20-40) less 30%. A 40% discount produces $12-24, and at 6,000 employees that gap is $144,000-$288,000 a year before you touch implementation.
  • Put one question to SAP in writing: do the 20-30% module discounts stack with the 15-28% multi-module bundle discount? On a full suite at 6,000 employees, the answer is worth roughly $508,000 a year.
  • Do not model Workday between 2,500 and 25,000 employees from public figures. The reported per-employee-per-year bands cover 1,000-2,500 and above 25,000, with nothing in between, and they do not reconcile with the reported per-month band.
  • If nobody on your side has run a suite implementation before, the cheaper licence will not save you. Both products fail the same way, and the failure is never the software.

Pricing at a glance

Neither product has a price you can look up. That is the single most important fact in this comparison and it shapes everything below: every number in this article is a reported or estimated figure gathered from the market, not a rate either vendor stands behind in public.

Workday SAP SuccessFactors
Pricing transparency Quote-only. No public pricing; every contract custom-quoted Quote-only. No public list prices; every quote requires a sales call
Reported list rate ~$20-40 PEPM (estimate) Employee Central ~$6-8 PEPM (estimate); full suite $6-38 PEPM
Reported delivered rate $14-28 PEPM after a 30-40% discount to list (estimate) $4.50-6.00 PEPM for Employee Central above 5,000 employees (estimate)
Per-employee-per-year bands $90-130 at 1,000-2,500 employees; $35-70 above 25,000 (estimates) Not reported on an annual basis
Talent modules Not separately reported Performance & Goals, Recruiting, Learning, Succession add $2-8 each, routinely discounting 20-30% off list
Volume / bundle discounts 30-40% off list, headcount-driven 15-28% when three or more modules are taken together
Implementation Typically 100-150% of the annual subscription fee $100,000-$500,000 for 500-2,000 employees on the full suite
Reported first-year totals $175,000-$212,500 mid-market; $4.15m-$5.75m large enterprise, including implementation, training and change management Not reported as a combined first-year total

Three structural differences jump out of that table. The first is that Workday's implementation cost is reported as a ratio while SuccessFactors' is reported as an absolute band. A ratio scales with your deal; an absolute band does not. That means the cheaper licence does not automatically produce the cheaper project, and at small enterprise headcounts it reliably does the opposite.

The second is quieter and costs more. Workday's reported figures come with first-year totals attached that explicitly bundle training and change management; SAP's implementation band carries no such statement of scope. So the two headline numbers are not describing the same quantity of work, and any side-by-side that treats them as comparable is understating one of them by an unknown margin. Normalising that scope is your job, not the vendors'.

The third is that SAP prices modules and Workday prices seats. SuccessFactors gives you a line-item bill you can attack module by module; Workday gives you a single negotiated number where the only lever is percentage off list. Those are different negotiations requiring different preparation, and if you send the same commercial team into both with the same playbook, one of the two will go badly. If you are still assembling the shortlist that produced this pairing, the wider ranking of enterprise HRIS platforms is worth a pass before you commit selection committee time.

What you are actually buying

Workday is a single application with one object model underneath it. Worker, organisation, position, cost centre and ledger account are the same objects to HR and to finance, which is why the finance-and-HR argument is the only genuinely non-negotiable differentiator in this pairing. You do not integrate Workday HCM to Workday Financials; they are the same system reading the same records. For an enterprise that closes its books monthly against headcount-driven cost allocations, that removes an entire reconciliation function rather than automating it. Everything else Workday does — recruiting, learning, compensation, planning — is available elsewhere, often cheaper.

Free Weekly Briefing Stay ahead of what's changing in HR and people ops.

Join 4,200+ leaders getting practical insights every week — no fluff, just signal.

Join Free →

SAP SuccessFactors is a suite of separately licensed products with Employee Central as the system of record. Performance & Goals, Recruiting, Learning and Succession are distinct purchases with distinct prices, distinct implementations and, historically, distinct interaction models. The consequence for a buyer is entirely practical: you can deploy Employee Central alone, run it for two years as a clean core HR system, and add Recruiting later without renegotiating the core. That is genuinely useful if your talent processes are not yet stable enough to encode.

The scoping implication matters more than most committees realise. The reported Workday delivered rate of $14-28 PEPM does not come with a stated module scope, so a like-for-like comparison against Employee Central's reported $6-8 is not actually available from public figures. The honest version is that SuccessFactors' core HR number is definitely a core HR number, and Workday's is a bundle of unspecified breadth. When you receive both quotes, the first thing to do is normalise scope: list every module in the Workday number, price the same list on the SAP side, and only then compare per-seat rates. Committees that skip this step routinely conclude SuccessFactors is 60% cheaper, sign, and discover in month nine that four of the capabilities they assumed were included are separate SKUs.

There is also a deployment-shape difference worth naming. SuccessFactors is frequently bought by organisations already running SAP in finance, where the integration argument runs the opposite way to Workday's — the ledger is already SAP, so the HR system that speaks natively to it is SuccessFactors. If that describes you, the finance-and-HR unification case for Workday is substantially weaker than the generic version of the argument suggests, because you already have the thing it sells.

How the pricing really works in a Workday vs SAP SuccessFactors deal

Both vendors run a discount-off-list model, but the lists behave differently and so do the levers.

On the Workday side the mechanism is simple and headcount-driven. List is reported at $20-40 PEPM; enterprises typically pay $14-28 delivered on a 30-40% discount. Run that arithmetic and something useful falls out: $20 less 30% is exactly $14, and $40 less 30% is exactly $28. The commonly quoted delivered band is the weak end of the reported discount range. A 40% discount produces $12-24 PEPM, which means the band most buyers anchor on is already two to four dollars per seat per month worse than what the same reported range says is achievable. Anchoring on $14-28 as "the market rate" is how you leave money on the table before the negotiation starts.

On the SAP side the mechanism is compositional. Employee Central carries its own reported rate. Each talent module adds $2-8 PEPM and discounts 20-30% on its own. Then a separate bundle discount of 15-28% applies when three or more modules are taken together. Whether those two discounts stack or whether the bundle discount replaces the module discounts is not something the reported figures resolve, and it is the highest-value ambiguity in the entire deal. Model both: three modules at the $8 top of list is $24 PEPM, which becomes $16.80 at a 30% module discount, or $12.10 if a 28% bundle discount then applies on top ($24 × 0.70 × 0.72 = $12.096). Get it in writing before the quote is issued, not after.

There are two headcount thresholds that actually change behaviour rather than just scaling the bill. The SuccessFactors one is 5,000 employees, above which Employee Central is reported to negotiate from $6-8 down to $4.50-6.00 PEPM. Below it, expect list. If you are at 4,200 people and growing, a three-year term signed at 4,200 seats prices you at the wrong side of that threshold for the whole term — worth raising explicitly with the account team, because the alternative is repurchasing the threshold at renewal.

The Workday threshold is 25,000 employees, above which the reported per-employee-per-year rate drops to $35-70 from the $90-130 reported at 1,000-2,500. What sits between 2,500 and 25,000 is not reported at all, which is where the overwhelming majority of readers of this article actually live. Anyone who tells you the mid-enterprise Workday rate with confidence is interpolating, and interpolating across a band that falls by roughly two-thirds is not analysis.

Where the reported numbers stop agreeing

This deserves its own treatment because it changes how you should use every figure above.

Workday's reported pricing is given two ways, and converted to common units they do not match. The per-employee-per-year band of $90-130 at 1,000-2,500 employees is $7.50-$10.83 PEPM ($90 ÷ 12 and $130 ÷ 12). The band above 25,000 employees, $35-70 PEPY, is $2.92-$5.83 PEPM. But the reported delivered rate is $14-28 PEPM. At 1,000-2,500 employees the annual band implies something between roughly half and three-quarters of the bottom of the monthly band. At 25,000-plus it implies as little as a fifth of it.

You cannot fix that by picking a favourite. What you can do is test which figure reconciles with the reported first-year totals, and that turns out to be informative. Take the large-enterprise first-year total of $4.15m-$5.75m, which includes implementation, training and change management. If implementation runs at 150% of subscription, first year is roughly 2.5× subscription, so $4.15m ÷ 2.5 = $1.66m of annual licence. If implementation runs at 100%, first year is roughly 2× subscription, so $5.75m ÷ 2 = $2.875m. Now price 25,000 seats on the annual band: $35 × 25,000 = $875,000 and $70 × 25,000 = $1,750,000. Add implementation at 150% of the top figure and first year becomes $1,750,000 + $2,625,000 = $4,375,000 — comfortably inside the reported $4.15m-$5.75m.

Price the same 25,000 seats on the monthly band and it falls apart: $14 × 25,000 × 12 = $4,200,000 of licence alone, which with implementation at 100% gives a first year of $8,400,000, well beyond the top of the reported range.

The same test run on the mid-market first-year figure of $175,000-$212,500 backs out a subscription of $70,000 to $106,250 ($175,000 ÷ 2.5 and $212,500 ÷ 2). At the $90-130 PEPY band that is a company of roughly 540 to 1,180 employees. So the "mid-market" total that gets quoted at CHROs describes an organisation smaller than most of the readership of this article, and it is not a sensible anchor if you have 4,000 people.

The practical conclusion is not that one number is a lie. It is that these bands measure different scopes, different discount levels and different deal vintages, and none of them is a substitute for a quote. Use the annual bands for enterprise-scale budget approximation, use the monthly bands for smaller deals, and put a stated confidence interval next to whatever you take to the CFO.

What three real headcounts actually cost

Below, the SuccessFactors full-suite figure means Employee Central plus three talent modules with the reported 20-30% module discount applied: at the low end, three modules at the $2 list end less 30% is $6 × 0.70 = $4.20 PEPM; at the high end, three at the $8 end less 20% is $24 × 0.80 = $19.20 PEPM. Added to Employee Central that gives $10.20-$27.20 PEPM below 5,000 employees and $8.70-$25.20 PEPM above it — both of which sit inside the reported full-suite envelope of $6-38, which is a reassuring cross-check.

Annual subscription only, before implementation:

Headcount SAP SuccessFactors, Employee Central only SAP SuccessFactors, EC + three talent modules Workday, on the reported annual band Workday, on the reported monthly band
1,500 $108,000 – $144,000 $183,600 – $489,600 $135,000 – $195,000 $252,000 – $504,000
6,000 $324,000 – $432,000 $626,400 – $1,814,400 No band reported at this size $1,008,000 – $2,016,000
25,000 $1,350,000 – $1,800,000 $2,610,000 – $7,560,000 $875,000 – $1,750,000 $4,200,000 – $8,400,000

The working, so you can audit it. At 1,500 employees SuccessFactors sits below the 5,000 threshold, so Employee Central is $6-8: 1,500 × $6 × 12 = $108,000 and 1,500 × $8 × 12 = $144,000. The full suite at $10.20-$27.20 gives 1,500 × $10.20 × 12 = $183,600 and 1,500 × $27.20 × 12 = $489,600. Workday at 1,500 falls inside the 1,000-2,500 annual band: 1,500 × $90 = $135,000 and 1,500 × $130 = $195,000; on the monthly band, 1,500 × $14 × 12 = $252,000 and 1,500 × $28 × 12 = $504,000.

At 6,000, Employee Central crosses the threshold to $4.50-6.00: 6,000 × $4.50 × 12 = $324,000 to 6,000 × $6 × 12 = $432,000. Full suite at $8.70-$25.20 gives $626,400 to $1,814,400. Workday has no reported band at 6,000 at all, so the monthly figures — $1,008,000 to $2,016,000 — are the only thing available, and per the previous section they run high.

At 25,000, Employee Central is $1,350,000-$1,800,000 and the full suite $2,610,000-$7,560,000. Workday on the annual band is $875,000-$1,750,000.

That last row is the one to sit with. On the annual band, a fully-moduled SuccessFactors estate at 25,000 seats can cost more than four times a Workday subscription ($7,560,000 against $1,750,000). The "SuccessFactors is materially cheaper" claim is true for core HR and stops being reliably true once you licence the talent suite at scale. Anyone presenting SAP as the cheap option to a board should be made to state which modules that assumes.

Implementation is the line item that decides this

Both business cases are dominated by implementation, but they are dominated differently, and the difference is not cosmetic.

Workday's implementation is reported as 100-150% of the annual subscription fee. It scales with your deal. A larger discount on licence mechanically produces a smaller implementation quote if the ratio holds — at 6,000 employees, cutting subscription from $1,008,000 to $864,000 by winning 40% rather than 30% off list would take a 125% implementation from $1,260,000 to $1,080,000, another $180,000 saved. Treat that as directional rather than a formula: the 100-150% is an observed ratio, and your systems integrator quotes on scope and days, not on a percentage of someone else's licence.

SuccessFactors' implementation is reported as an absolute band: $100,000-$500,000 for 500-2,000 employees on the full suite. Expressed as a share of subscription, that band behaves alarmingly.

Full-suite subscription (EC + three talent modules) Implementation at $100,000 Implementation at $500,000
500 employees at $10.20 PEPM = $61,200/yr 163% of annual subscription 817% of annual subscription
500 employees at $27.20 PEPM = $163,200/yr 61% 306%
2,000 employees at $10.20 PEPM = $244,800/yr 41% 204%
2,000 employees at $27.20 PEPM = $652,800/yr 15% 77%

Read the top-right cell again. A 500-person organisation on a lightly-moduled SuccessFactors deployment can pay implementation costs of more than eight times its annual licence. The licence saving that made SAP look cheap is erased in the first invoice from the integrator. The pattern generalises: the thinner your licence, the worse implementation looks as a ratio, because configuration effort is driven by process complexity, country count and integration surface, not by how many SKUs you bought.

Two operational cautions. First, the reported SuccessFactors implementation band stops at 2,000 employees, and there is no published equivalent above that. If you are at 8,000 people, you have no external benchmark to sanity-check your integrator's quote against, which means you need two or three competing SI bids rather than one, and you need them scoped identically. Second, the reported Workday first-year totals include training and change management, while the SuccessFactors implementation band does not say what it includes. Do not compare them as though they cover the same work. Ask both integrators to price data migration, integration build, testing cycles, end-user training and hypercare as separate lines, then compare line by line.

The single most common budgeting failure in this pairing is approving licence in one committee and implementation in another, three months apart. By the time the second number arrives, the first is contractually committed and the project has no exit.

Where Workday genuinely wins, and where it does not

The unified data model is real, and it is the only argument for Workday that survives contact with a spreadsheet. If HR and finance share a system of record, headcount planning, position management and cost allocation stop being reconciliation exercises. For an organisation running monthly close against a headcount-driven cost base, that is structural, not incremental. No amount of middleware makes two systems into one object model.

Workday also wins on the shape of the negotiation, which is an underrated practical advantage. One vendor, one discount percentage, one renewal date. You are arguing about a single number. SuccessFactors gives you five or six line items, each with its own discount, its own renewal behaviour and its own scope creep. Procurement teams with limited bandwidth get better outcomes on the simpler deal, and the reported 30-40% discount range gives you a defined space to fight in.

Where it does not win: on price per seat for core HR, it is not close and pretending otherwise is dishonest. Even taking Workday's most favourable reported figure, the annual band of $90-130 PEPY at 1,000-2,500 employees converts to $7.50-$10.83 PEPM, which is still above Employee Central's reported $6-8 at that size. Take the monthly band instead and Workday is two to four times the price. If your requirement is a clean core HR system with solid absence, org and reporting, you are paying a substantial premium for a data model you may never exploit.

It also does not win on incrementalism. The reported implementation ratio of 100-150% of annual subscription means a Workday programme is a large, front-loaded, all-at-once commitment by design. There is no cheap way to try it on 2,000 people and expand. If your organisation has a poor record of finishing large transformation programmes, that structure is working against you, and the honest answer may be that neither vendor is the right next step this year.

Finally, the finance argument is weaker than it looks if your ledger is already SAP. In that case Workday's integration story is a proposal to replace a working integration with a different working integration, at considerable cost, and the burden of proof shifts entirely onto the HR side of the business case.

Where SAP SuccessFactors genuinely wins, and where it does not

The core HR economics are the win, and they are decisive at scale. Employee Central at a reported $4.50-6.00 PEPM above 5,000 employees is the cheapest credible enterprise system of record in this comparison. At 25,000 people that is $1,350,000-$1,800,000 a year for a global system of record — against a Workday monthly band that starts at $4,200,000. If your talent processes live happily in specialist tools you already own, buying Employee Central alone and nothing else is a defensible, adult decision that a lot of committees talk themselves out of for no good reason.

Modularity is the second win, and it is a sequencing advantage more than a cost one. You can stand up Employee Central, stabilise data and process for eighteen months, and add Recruiting or Learning once you know what you actually need. That optionality has real value in an organisation mid-restructure, mid-acquisition or with a talent operating model that is still being argued about.

Where it does not win: cost control once module count rises. The full-suite envelope of $6-38 PEPM is enormous, and the modelled EC-plus-three-modules figure of $8.70-$25.20 PEPM above 5,000 employees shows how quickly the cheap core stops being the story. At 6,000 employees that is $626,400 at the bottom and $1,814,400 at the top — a nearly threefold spread driven entirely by which modules at which discount. That is not a price; it is a range you have to negotiate your way inside.

It also does not win on implementation predictability at small enterprise size. As the table above shows, at 500-2,000 employees the reported implementation band can be several multiples of annual licence. The licence advantage is real and the project advantage is not.

And it does not resolve the finance question. Employee Central is a system of record for HR. If your requirement is a shared object model across HR and finance, modules do not get you there. Be clear with yourself about which of those two problems you are actually solving, because the answer determines the vendor and almost nothing else does. Our broader HRIS systems comparison covers the platforms worth considering if it turns out neither of these is the right weight class for you.

Migration, sequencing and the first eighteen months

The sequencing decisions below cost more than the licence negotiation and get a fraction of the attention.

Freeze your data model before you pick a vendor. Both systems will happily encode whatever position, cost centre and organisation structure you give them, and both are expensive to unpick afterwards. The specific failure is legal entity and cost centre hierarchies that were never rationalised because the old system tolerated ambiguity. Run that cleanup as a pre-project, with finance in the room, before either implementation starts. It is the only work in this programme that gets cheaper the earlier you do it.

Sequence by payroll dependency, not by enthusiasm. Whichever platform you choose, the system of record has to be stable before anything downstream consumes it. A realistic order is core HR and organisation structure first, then absence and time, then payroll integration, then talent. Recruiting is the module most often pulled forward because a stakeholder is loud about it, and it is the one that most often has to be redone once the org structure changes underneath it.

Plan two parallel migrations, not one. Historical data and live data have different rules. Decide early how many years of history you actually need in the new system versus in an archive — the answer is usually driven by statutory retention and a small number of reporting requirements, not by "everything". Every additional year of history migrated adds testing cycles, and testing cycles are where implementation budgets actually die.

Budget for the second wave. Neither reported implementation figure covers the twelve months after go-live, when the real requirements arrive: the reports nobody specified, the integration to the system nobody mentioned, the country that was descoped and now is not. On the Workday side, the reported first-year totals of $175,000-$212,500 mid-market and $4.15m-$5.75m large enterprise explicitly include training and change management, which is unusually honest scoping; the SuccessFactors implementation band of $100,000-$500,000 carries no such statement, so assume it does not and price those separately.

Finally, resource the internal side properly. Both platforms require a permanent HRIS function afterwards — configuration, release management, security administration, reporting. This is not a project that ends. An organisation that cannot fund two or three permanent HRIS roles should not be buying either product, and that judgement should be made before the RFP, not after the invoice.

Negotiating: the levers that actually move the price

Four levers, in order of how much they are worth.

One: the discount anchor on Workday. The reported delivered band of $14-28 PEPM is list less 30%, and the reported discount range runs to 40%. Ask for 40% and make the vendor argue you down, rather than accepting a band that already assumes you lost. At 6,000 employees the difference between $14 and $12 PEPM is 6,000 × $2 × 12 = $144,000 a year; at the top of the range, $28 versus $24 is $288,000 a year. Over a three-year term that is $432,000 to $864,000. Nothing else in the negotiation is worth that much per hour of effort.

Two: discount stacking on SuccessFactors. Module-level discounts are reported at 20-30% and bundle discounts at 15-28% for three or more modules. If both apply, a full-suite rate of $25.20 PEPM becomes $25.20 × 0.72 = $18.14, a saving of $7.06 PEPM. At 6,000 employees that is $508,000 a year; at 25,000 it is $2,116,800 a year. Ask the question before the quote is drafted, because a quote that already netted the discounts is far harder to reopen than a quote that has not been written.

Three: the 5,000-employee threshold. Employee Central is reported to move from $6-8 to $4.50-6.00 PEPM above 5,000 employees. If you are within striking distance — say 4,000 to 4,900 people — do not sign a three-year term priced at today's headcount and hope. Negotiate the threshold rate into the contract as an automatic step-down triggered by headcount, in the same clause that handles seat growth. At 5,000 seats the difference between $6 and $4.50 is 5,000 × $1.50 × 12 = $90,000 a year, and vendors give it up far more readily before signature than at renewal.

Four: implementation scope, quoted separately and competitively. Because Workday implementation is reported at 100-150% of subscription, a fifty-point swing on a $1,000,000 subscription is $500,000. Get at least two integrator bids, insist they price identical line items, and make the vendor's own professional services arm compete rather than assuming it.

Two things not to spend leverage on. Do not trade term length for discount without pricing the option you are giving up — a five-year term on a platform you may want to leave is expensive in a way that does not appear in the discount column. And do not negotiate hard on licence and then accept whatever the integrator quotes; the second number is larger and considerably softer.

Who should pick which

Pick SAP SuccessFactors if you are above roughly 5,000 employees, your requirement is a global system of record, and your talent processes either live elsewhere or are not yet stable enough to encode. The reported Employee Central rate of $4.50-6.00 PEPM above that threshold is the strongest core HR economics in this comparison, and buying the core alone is a legitimate strategy rather than a compromise. It is also the right answer if your finance stack is already SAP, because the integration argument that normally favours Workday runs the other way.

Pick Workday if a shared HR-and-finance object model is a genuine board-level requirement with a named business outcome attached — faster close, headcount-accurate cost allocation, planning that reconciles to the ledger without a spreadsheet. That is the one thing you cannot buy more cheaply. It is also the better choice if your procurement function is thin, because one negotiated percentage is a far more manageable deal than six line items with independent discounts.

Pick neither, this year, if your data model has not been rationalised, if you cannot fund a permanent HRIS function, or if the last large transformation programme in your organisation did not finish. Both products have reported implementation costs that can exceed annual licence — 100-150% for Workday, and up to eight times licence for a thin SuccessFactors deployment at 500 employees — and neither of those numbers is survivable if the internal capability is not there.

Where they are genuinely equivalent — and at 1,500 to 5,000 employees running standard core HR with a couple of talent modules, they largely are — do not manufacture a winner from feature scoring. Let it be decided by three things instead: which integrator you can actually get, with named consultants and evidence they have delivered in your sector; which vendor will put the discount threshold you need into the contract rather than a side letter; and which system your existing finance stack argues for. Those are the variables that determine whether this programme lands. The per-seat rate, which is what most committees spend eight weeks on, is the one that matters least. For context on how both rank against the rest of the market, see HROpsLab's best HRIS systems analysis.

Frequently Asked Questions

Why can I not get a price for either product without a sales call?

Neither vendor publishes list prices, so every contract is custom-quoted. The commercial reason is that both discount 20-40% depending on headcount, module count and term, and a published rate would become a ceiling. The practical consequence for you is that every figure in this article, and in every other article on the subject, is a reported estimate rather than a published rate. Budget with a stated range and a confidence interval, never a single number.

Is SAP SuccessFactors always cheaper than Workday?

For core HR, on the reported figures, yes — Employee Central at $6-8 PEPM, or $4.50-6.00 above 5,000 employees, is well below Workday's reported $14-28 delivered. For a full suite it is not reliably true. Employee Central plus three talent modules models at $8.70-$25.20 PEPM above 5,000 employees, which at 25,000 people reaches $7,560,000 a year, more than four times Workday priced on its reported annual band.

How much should I budget for implementation?

For Workday, 100-150% of the annual subscription is the reported ratio, so a $1,000,000 subscription implies $1,000,000-$1,500,000 of implementation. For SuccessFactors, $100,000-$500,000 is reported for 500-2,000 employees on the full suite, with no reported figure above 2,000. In both cases get two competing integrator bids priced on identical line items, and confirm whether training, change management and hypercare are inside or outside the number.

At what headcount does SAP SuccessFactors pricing improve?

The reported threshold is 5,000 employees, above which Employee Central moves from $6-8 PEPM to $4.50-6.00. If you are approaching it, negotiate an automatic step-down triggered by headcount into the contract rather than waiting for renewal — at 5,000 seats the gap between $6 and $4.50 is $90,000 a year. Separately, bundle discounts of 15-28% become available once you take three or more modules, independent of headcount.

What does a Workday deal cost at 6,000 employees?

There is no reliable public answer, and that is the honest response. The reported per-employee-per-year bands cover 1,000-2,500 employees and above 25,000, with nothing between. Priced on the monthly band, 6,000 seats is $1,008,000-$2,016,000 a year, but that band does not reconcile with the reported first-year totals at enterprise scale. Treat any confident mid-enterprise Workday figure as an interpolation across a gap where the rate roughly halves.

Can I run Employee Central alone and keep my existing talent tools?

Yes, and for many organisations it is the better decision. SuccessFactors licenses modules separately, so Employee Central works as a standalone system of record while Recruiting, Learning and Performance stay wherever they currently are. You give up single-vendor support and a unified reporting layer, and you take on integration work. Weigh that against a talent suite that adds $2-8 PEPM per module before discount — at 6,000 people, one $8 module is $576,000 a year at list.

Share on X Share on LinkedIn

What to do next?

Explore More Articles

Dig deeper into HR Ops strategy, tools, and workflows built for real teams.

Browse the blog →
Join the HROpsLab Community

Connect with People Ops practitioners sharing real workflows, tools, and challenges.

Join now →