The real question in Sage HR vs Zoho People is not which product has more features — it is whether a price difference of roughly five times is money well spent. At 100 employees, Sage HR with the timesheets add-on runs about $975 a month against Zoho People Professional at $200, and that is the widest gap between any two credible HRIS products aimed at the same buyer. Everything below exists to help you decide whether the extra $9,300 a year is buying something real or buying a nicer login screen.
TL;DR
- Choose Zoho People if budget is the binding constraint and you have someone in-house willing to own configuration. At $2 per user per month on Professional, a 100-person company pays $2,400 a year.
- Choose Sage HR if manager adoption is your actual risk. A leave system line managers refuse to use costs more in shadow spreadsheets than the entire licence gap, and Sage HR's interface and support are why its list price is higher.
- Budget $9.75 PEPM, not $5.50, if you need timesheets. Sage HR's Core HR + Leave Management base is $5.50; timesheets adds $4.25, a 77% uplift on the base rate before anything else.
- Do not plan on Sage HR's "from $7" positioning. Core HR + Leave ($5.50) plus timesheets ($4.25) plus performance management (approximately $3.00) is $12.75 PEPM — 82% above that headline.
- If you already run Zoho apps, trial Zoho People and stop shortlisting. Ecosystem fit beats interface quality here, and the paid entry point is $6.25 a month at the five-user minimum.
- Below about 40 employees the cash gap is too small to decide on. At 20 people the annual difference is roughly $840 — pick on fit, not price.
- Above 250 employees, get Sage HR's per-module rates in writing before signing. Three of its add-ons have no published price at all, so the modular model cannot be fully modelled in advance.
Pricing at a glance
Both products publish prices, which is unusual and genuinely valuable at this end of the market. Neither makes you sit through a discovery call to learn a number. But "published" means different things here: Zoho People's ladder is a clean list of tiers, while Sage HR's is a base rate plus a set of modules, some of which carry public rates and some of which do not.
| Sage HR | Zoho People | |
|---|---|---|
| Entry price | $5.50 PEPM (Core HR + Leave Management) | $1.25 per user/month (Essential HR) |
| Next step up | $6.00 PEPM (Core HR Package) | $2.00 per user/month (Professional) |
| Vendor's stated entry | "From $7 PEPM once optional add-ons are included" | Free tier available; five tiers in total |
| Add-ons with published rates | Timesheets $4.25 PEPM; performance management approx. $3.00 PEPM | None — capability moves with the tier |
| Named items without published rates | Shift scheduling, expenses, recruitment | Premium and Enterprise tier rates |
| Minimum commitment | Not stated | 5 users on all paid plans; $6.25/month, $75/year at the floor |
| Billing | Per employee per month | Billed annually for the published rates |
| Regional variation | Yes — some regions list Core HR + Leave at $7.50 | Not stated |
| Pricing transparency | Partly published — base and two add-ons public, three add-ons quote-only | Published for the two lowest paid tiers; upper tiers not published |
Two rows deserve a second look. First, Sage HR lists the Core HR Package at $6.00 while Core HR + Leave Management is $5.50 — the bundle that includes leave is cheaper than the one that does not. That is a packaging artefact rather than an error, but it tells you the price list is regionally sliced and that you must confirm which SKU your quote actually references.
Best tools for HRIS Software
Second, Sage HR's pricing is explicitly region-specific: the same Core HR + Leave bundle appears at $7.50 PEPM in some regions, a 36% uplift on $5.50. Do not build a budget on a number you read on another country's page. Zoho People's transparency has a different limit — it runs out above Professional, and the Premium and Enterprise rates are not published, which matters if your requirement is heading upward. You can see how both sit against the broader field in our guide to the best HRIS systems.
What each product actually is
Sage HR is the HR arm of a company whose centre of gravity is accounting software. That matters more than any feature list. It shapes who sells it, who supports it, and which finance director has already heard of it. On HROpsLab, Sage HR is ranked eighth and carries the label "Best for managing the full employee lifecycle," and that label is accurate in a specific sense: the product is built as a spine — core employee records and leave — with lifecycle modules bolted onto it. Timesheets, shift scheduling, expenses, performance management and recruitment are each a separate purchase. You are buying a chassis and choosing your options.
Zoho People is one product inside a very large software estate. Zoho sells dozens of business applications, and Zoho People's strongest argument has never been that it is the best HRIS — it is that if your CRM, helpdesk, expense tool and document store already carry the same logo, the HRIS should too. The product ships in five tiers: Free, Essential HR, Professional, Premium and Enterprise. Capability arrives by moving up the ladder rather than by bolting on modules, which is a materially different buying experience.
The philosophical difference drives the cost curve. Sage HR's model rewards restraint: if you genuinely only need employee records and leave, you pay $5.50 PEPM and nothing more, and the product is coherent at that level. Zoho People's model rewards commitment: the tier you sit on determines everything, so under-buying leaves capability on the table while over-buying costs very little in absolute terms.
Neither is an all-in-one platform in the sense Rippling or Deel are pitched. Neither is a payroll engine in the sense Gusto, OnPay, Paycor or Paylocity are. Neither is an analytics layer like ChartHop or Visier. If your shortlist contains any of those alongside these two, you have not finished defining the problem — you are comparing categories, not products. The buyer this pairing serves is an HR manager at a 20-to-300-person company who needs one system of record for people data, a leave workflow managers will actually use, probably time tracking, and a price finance will sign off without a business case.
How Sage HR's pricing really works — the add-on stack
This is where Sage HR's affordable positioning erodes, and it is the most important thing to understand before building a budget.
The advertised entry is $5.50 PEPM for Core HR + Leave Management. Sage's own framing already concedes that plans "start from $7 PEPM once optional add-ons are included" — meaning the vendor expects you to buy more than the base. Then the arithmetic runs away:
| Configuration | Working | PEPM | Uplift vs $5.50 base |
|---|---|---|---|
| Core HR + Leave Management | base rate | $5.50 | — |
| Core HR Package (no leave) | listed separately | $6.00 | +9% |
| Core + Leave + Timesheets | $5.50 + $4.25 | $9.75 | +77% |
| Core + Leave + Performance | $5.50 + $3.00 (approx.) | $8.50 | +55% |
| Core + Leave + Timesheets + Performance | $5.50 + $4.25 + $3.00 | $12.75 | +132% |
| Same stack, $7.50 region | $7.50 + $4.25 + $3.00 | $14.75 | +168% |
Note the line that should stop you: the two priced add-ons together cost $7.25 PEPM, which is more than the $5.50 base itself. The modules are not a garnish on the platform — at a typical configuration they are the majority of the bill. And the performance management figure of approximately $3.00 PEPM is exactly that: approximate. Treat it as a planning number, not a contract number.
Now the part nobody puts in a pricing table. Three named Sage HR add-ons — shift scheduling, expenses and recruitment — carry no published rate at all. If your requirement includes rota management for shift-based staff, expense claims, or an applicant tracking workflow, you cannot model your bill from public information. That single fact converts Sage HR from "transparently priced" to "partly published," and it means the comparison you run today may not be the comparison you sign.
Three questions to put in writing before committing. One: confirm which region's rate card applies, because $5.50 and $7.50 are both real prices for the same bundle. Two: confirm whether add-ons bill on total headcount or only on enabled users — if 30 of your 250 staff submit timesheets, being billed $4.25 across all 250 is a $935 monthly difference. Three: get the per-module rate for every module on your roadmap, not just the ones you are buying now, and ask for those rates to be held for the contract term. Otherwise your year-two upgrade is priced by whoever answers the phone.
How Zoho People's pricing really works
Zoho People's model is almost the opposite: fewer moving parts, and the ones that move are cheap.
Essential HR is $1.25 per user per month. Professional is $2.00 per user per month. All paid plans require a minimum of five users, so the smallest possible paid bill is 5 × $1.25 = $6.25 a month, or $75 a year, billed annually. There is a Free tier below that, and Premium and Enterprise above Professional. I am not quoting rates for the upper two, because the source behind this article does not carry them — if your requirement lands there, obtain the number directly and treat any figure you find in a blog post as unverified.
The mechanical detail that matters most is the annual billing attached to the published rates. That is not a trap, but it changes how you pilot: the evaluation has to finish before you commit, not during your first paid quarter, because you are buying a year at a time.
The second detail is that the gap between Essential HR and Professional is $0.75 PEPM — a 60% increase in the rate, but a trivial increase in the bill. At 100 employees, Essential is 100 × $1.25 = $125 a month, $1,500 a year; Professional is 100 × $2.00 = $200 a month, $2,400 a year. The difference is $75 a month, $900 a year. At 250 employees it is 250 × $0.75 = $187.50 a month, or $2,250 a year.
The actionable conclusion runs opposite to Sage HR's model. On a Sage HR quote, adding one module moves your annual bill by five figures. On Zoho People, moving an entire tier moves it by hundreds. If Professional contains anything you might plausibly need in the next eighteen months, buy Professional and stop deliberating. The cost of guessing wrong upward is a rounding error; the cost of guessing wrong downward is a mid-year rebuild by your own team.
The five-user minimum is irrelevant above about ten employees, but it does mean a five-person startup pays the same $6.25 as a three-person one. For contrast, five people on Sage HR Core HR + Leave costs 5 × $5.50 = $27.50 a month, $330 a year, against Zoho People's $75 a year on Essential — a 4.4× ratio, and an absolute difference of $255 a year that should not drive anyone's decision.
Sage HR vs Zoho People: total cost at 25, 100 and 250 employees
Here is the arithmetic in full, at three headcounts bracketing the 20-to-300 band this pairing serves. Sage HR appears in three configurations, because the honest comparison depends entirely on whether you need timesheets.
Monthly cost:
| Headcount | Sage HR, Core + Leave ($5.50) | Sage HR + Timesheets ($9.75) | Sage HR full stack ($12.75) | Zoho People Essential ($1.25) | Zoho People Professional ($2.00) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 25 | $137.50 | $243.75 | $318.75 | $31.25 | $50.00 |
| 100 | $550.00 | $975.00 | $1,275.00 | $125.00 | $200.00 |
| 250 | $1,375.00 | $2,437.50 | $3,187.50 | $312.50 | $500.00 |
Annual cost, and the gap:
| Headcount | Sage HR + Timesheets, per year | Zoho People Professional, per year | Difference | Multiple |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 25 | $2,925 | $600 | $2,325 | 4.9× |
| 100 | $11,700 | $2,400 | $9,300 | 4.9× |
| 250 | $29,250 | $6,000 | $23,250 | 4.9× |
The working, so you can check it: at 100 employees, Sage HR at $5.50 + $4.25 = $9.75 PEPM gives 100 × $9.75 = $975 a month, and $975 × 12 = $11,700 a year. Zoho People Professional at $2.00 gives 100 × $2.00 = $200 a month, and $200 × 12 = $2,400 a year. $11,700 ÷ $2,400 = 4.875, which is where "roughly five times" comes from. Because both price linearly per employee with no base fee and no minimum above five users, that multiple is constant at every headcount. It does not improve as you scale, which is unusual and worth internalising — scale will not solve this for you.
What changes with scale is the absolute number, and absolute numbers are what get questioned. At the bottom of the range, 20 employees, Sage HR Core + Leave is 20 × $5.50 = $110 a month, $1,320 a year, against Zoho People Professional at 20 × $2.00 = $40 a month, $480 a year. The annual gap is $840, or $70 a month; no finance director reopens that. At the top, 300 employees, Sage HR with timesheets is 300 × $9.75 = $2,925 a month, $35,100 a year, against $600 a month and $7,200 a year. The gap is $27,900 a year — a line item that will be raised in every budget cycle for as long as you own it.
Per employee per year, the framing finance teams prefer: Sage HR Core + Leave is $66, with timesheets $117, full stack $153. Zoho People Essential is $15 and Professional $24. The delta between a Sage HR timesheets configuration and Zoho People Professional is $93 per employee per year. Whether that is defensible is a question about your organisation, not about the software.
What the five-times gap actually buys
This is where a lazy comparison declares the cheap one the winner and moves on. That would be wrong, for reasons you can verify in a two-week trial.
Start with what the gap does not buy: a fundamentally larger feature footprint. Both cover the core of what a 20-to-300-person company needs — employee records, leave, documents, org structure, and with the right module or tier, time tracking and performance. Build a requirements matrix scored on presence-or-absence of capability and Zoho People will hold its own, making the price difference look indefensible. Requirements matrices are bad at this comparison, and that is a limitation of the method rather than evidence about the products.
What the gap plausibly buys is four things, only one of which appears on a feature list.
Interface quality. Zoho People's interface is generally considered to sit behind Western competitors — a reputational judgement rather than a measurable fact, and one you should test rather than accept. But the mechanism by which it costs money is concrete. An HRIS at this size has three user populations: the HR team, who will learn anything; line managers, who touch it perhaps four times a year and abandon it if it fights them; and employees, who book leave and look at a document. Friction does not hurt the HR team. It hurts manager adoption. When managers stop approving leave in the system, leave goes back to email, balances go back to a spreadsheet, and you are paying for an HRIS while running the process you were replacing.
Support responsiveness. Same caveat — a qualitative reputation, not a published SLA on either side. But the failure mode is specific and seasonal. Support latency is irrelevant in month four and critical in the week you close your leave year, the week you onboard a cohort, and the day a manager cannot approve a request an employee has already taken. If your HR function is one person, slow support is that person's evening.
Module maturity. Presence is not depth. Sage HR's timesheets module at $4.25 PEPM is a paid product with its own roadmap; capability included inside a $2.00 tier is structurally cross-subsidised. That does not make it bad, but it changes what you should test: run the genuinely awkward cases — part-day absence, carry-over caps, public holiday calendars across two countries, an approval chain that skips a vacant manager slot — not the happy path.
Sage accounting fit. Sage's institutional centre is finance software. If your finance team already runs Sage, the vendor relationship, procurement route and account team already exist, and the expenses and timesheets modules sit in a portfolio oriented towards accounting. Verify any specific integration before pricing it in — but the organisational fit is real, and it is the argument most likely to persuade a finance director otherwise staring at a $9,300 annual gap.
Where each one genuinely wins
Sage HR wins when manager adoption is the project risk. If a previous people-system rollout died because line managers ignored it, you are not buying features — you are buying the probability of adoption. That is a legitimate use of $9,300 a year at 100 employees, and it is the only argument here that survives contact with a CFO. Frame it that way: not "the interface is nicer," but "the last rollout failed and re-running it costs more than the difference."
Sage HR wins when timesheets are the core requirement. A $4.25 PEPM module priced at 77% of the vendor's own base rate carries real weight. For a company with hourly staff, project time allocation, or client billing that depends on time data being right, that module is what the decision should turn on. Test it against your worst timesheet — split shift, overtime threshold, retrospective correction.
Sage HR wins when Sage is already in the building, and when you want to buy narrowly. Start at Core HR + Leave for $5.50, prove value across a leave year, then add timesheets. That sequencing is easier on a module model than on a tier ladder, because each step is a discrete decision at a discrete price. The à la carte structure also lets you decline things: capability you never buy never clutters the navigation, which is a real operational benefit for a small HR team rather than a cosmetic one.
Zoho People wins outright if you already run Zoho. Shared identity, a familiar administrative model, one vendor relationship, one renewal date, and an internal team that already understands how Zoho configuration behaves. No amount of interface polish elsewhere outweighs that. Run a trial to confirm the leave workflow handles your policy, then buy it.
Zoho People wins when the budget genuinely does not exist. There is a class of company — 40 to 150 employees, HR run by one person who also owns office management, no HR software line at all — where the real choice is Zoho People versus spreadsheets. At $2,400 a year for 100 employees, it is approvable as an expense. Sage HR at $11,700 needs a business case, a sponsor and a planning slot, and by the time you have all three it is nine months later. A cheaper system implemented in March beats a better system approved in December.
Zoho People wins when you have configuration capacity in-house. Its economics assume you supply labour the vendor is not charging for. If you have an operations person who enjoys building workflows, that trade is excellent value. If you do not, you are buying a system nobody has time to set up — and the licence saving evaporates into an unfinished implementation.
Where each one struggles
Sage HR struggles with pricing predictability. For a product sold on modular transparency, three named add-ons — shift scheduling, expenses and recruitment — have no public rate, and the base bundle itself varies regionally between $5.50 and $7.50 PEPM. Build a three-year budget and you are guessing at two of three variables. Stacking makes it worse: because the priced add-ons cost $7.25 PEPM against a $5.50 base, one unplanned module changes your bill by more than the original decision did. At 250 employees, adding performance management at approximately $3.00 PEPM is 250 × $3.00 = $750 a month, $9,000 a year — an amount that would be a full procurement exercise as a standalone purchase, arriving as a checkbox on an existing contract.
Sage HR also struggles against its own affordable positioning. It is presented as a budget-friendly modular HRIS, and at $5.50 PEPM it is. But the configuration most buyers actually need — core, leave, timesheets — is $9.75, and a growing HR function ends up at $12.75. That is 132% above the entry price. It is not a bait-and-switch so much as a predictable drift buyers consistently fail to model. Model it on day one.
Zoho People struggles with what does not appear on a requirements matrix. Its interface and support are generally regarded as behind Western competitors. Treat that as a hypothesis to test, not a verdict — but test it properly, because if it is true the cost is not a worse experience, it is a failed rollout. The specific test: hand the system to two line managers who did not choose it, give them no training, and ask them to approve a leave request and then correct a wrong one. If they can, the interface objection is dead and you should buy Zoho People. If they cannot, you have found the $9,300.
Zoho People also struggles with the ceiling question. Essential HR and Professional are published; Premium and Enterprise are not. If your requirement is heading upward, the transparency advantage that made Zoho People attractive evaporates at exactly the moment you need it, and you are back in a sales conversation. Establish which tier you actually need before using price as your deciding argument.
The ecosystem argument cuts both ways. Consolidating on one vendor concentrates your risk in that vendor's roadmap, support model and renewal behaviour. That is a strategic position rather than a free lunch. If it worries you, the answer is a wider shortlist rather than a more expensive version of the same trade — at this size that shortlist normally also includes BambooHR, Namely, HiBob, Humaans, Personio, Factorial, Sesame HR and Kenjo. Widen the list before you widen the budget.
Both share a structural limit. Neither is a payroll engine and neither is an analytics platform. If your real problem is multi-state US payroll, this is the wrong shelf and you want Gusto, OnPay, Paycor or Paylocity. If it is workforce analytics across multiple source systems, ChartHop or Visier. Global hiring or device management, Deel or Rippling. Enterprise-scale HCM, SAP SuccessFactors. Buying an HRIS to solve a payroll problem is the most expensive mistake in this category, and it is common.
Implementation, migration and the first 90 days
Neither product carries an implementation fee in the pricing information available here, which is worth pausing on. Mid-market HRIS vendors commonly charge one, sometimes a meaningful percentage of first-year software cost. Its absence is part of why both are accessible to a 20-to-300-person company with no project budget. Confirm it on your own quote rather than assuming — but if it holds, your implementation cost is entirely internal labour, and internal labour is the variable that genuinely differs between these two.
That reframes the comparison. On Sage HR you pay more in licence and, plausibly, less in configuration time. On Zoho People you pay far less in licence and supply more of the setup yourself. Neither is free; they draw from different budgets, and one of those budgets is invisible.
The migration sequence is the same for both, and the order matters more than the tool.
Weeks 1-2: extract and clean. Pull employee master data — legal name, start date, job title, manager, location, contract type, cost centre — into a spreadsheet and fix it there, not in the new system. Manager hierarchy is where this always breaks: vacant roles, dotted lines, people who report to themselves in the old data. Fix the org chart before it becomes an approval chain.
Weeks 3-4: leave configuration. The hard part, and where both products get tested honestly. Load accrual rules, carry-over caps and expiry dates, public holiday calendars for every country you employ in, and part-day units. Then load mid-year balances, the single most error-prone step in any HRIS migration. If someone has taken 11.5 days of a 25-day entitlement with 3 days carried over, the system must agree with your spreadsheet to the half-day. Reconcile every employee, not a sample.
Weeks 5-8: parallel run. Keep the old process alive alongside the new one. Do not skip this to save time; the point is to catch the accrual rule that behaves differently at year end.
Weeks 9-12: manager enablement and cutover. Cut over at the start of a leave year, not mid-year. A mid-year cutover means reconciling partial balances twice and explaining a discrepancy to every employee who checks. If your leave year starts in January, this sequence begins in September.
One Sage HR caution: do not buy every module on day one. Implement Core HR + Leave at $5.50, run a full leave cycle, then add timesheets at $4.25. Buying the $12.75 full stack before proving the base is how organisations end up paying $15,300 a year at 100 employees for two modules nobody has configured. One Zoho People caution: because the published rates bill annually, your evaluation must be complete before you commit, so load real data in week one rather than exploring a demo tenant.
Negotiation, trials and contract terms
The uncomfortable truth about negotiating either of these: below roughly 100 employees you have almost no leverage, and pretending otherwise wastes weeks. A 60-person company represents $7,020 a year to Sage HR on the timesheets configuration (60 × $9.75 × 12) and $1,440 a year to Zoho People on Professional (60 × $2.00 × 12). Neither figure justifies a discount approval. Published pricing is therefore worth more to you than a discount you were never going to win — and it is the main reason this pairing is comfortable to buy at small scale. Both vendors will tell you the price without a sales process, so you can build a budget on a Tuesday afternoon.
Above roughly 150 employees the conversation changes, and it changes for Sage HR specifically, because the absolute numbers get large enough to matter. At 250 employees on the full stack you are discussing $38,250 a year (250 × $12.75 × 12). That is worth a conversation. Four things to ask for, in priority order:
One: the per-module rate card in writing, including modules you are not buying yet. Shift scheduling, expenses and recruitment have no published price, so the only way to know your year-three cost is to fix it now, while an unsigned contract is still your leverage.
Two: confirmation of which region's price list applies. The $5.50 versus $7.50 spread on the same bundle is a 36% difference. At 250 employees that is 250 × $2.00 × 12 = $6,000 a year on the base alone, before add-ons. Get the currency and region on the order form.
Three: the billing basis for add-ons. Ask explicitly whether timesheets bills across total headcount or only enabled users. With 250 employees and 40 timesheet users, the difference is 210 × $4.25 = $892.50 a month, or $10,710 a year. This one question can be worth more than any discount you negotiate.
Four: renewal price protection. A per-employee-per-month contract already grows automatically as you hire; you should not also absorb a rate increase. Hold the rate for the contract term and cap the increase at renewal.
For Zoho People, negotiation is largely beside the point at these tiers — the rates are low and published, and the real decision is which tier you need. Spend the effort on the trial instead. Load 20 real employees, not test records. Configure your actual leave policy including the awkward part. Give it to two line managers cold. Confirm the tier boundary in writing before committing to a year, because annual billing turns a tier mistake into twelve months of friction rather than one.
For both: run the trials concurrently, not sequentially. Two weeks each in parallel gives a direct comparison on the same data with the same people. Two weeks each in sequence gives a comparison against a fading memory, and the second product always wins that.
Who should pick which
The genuinely useful conclusion is not that one product is better. It is that the two are close enough on capability that capability should not decide it — and once you accept that, the decision becomes tractable.
| Your situation | Pick | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Already running other Zoho products | Zoho People | Ecosystem fit outweighs every other factor here |
| No HR software budget line at all | Zoho People | $2,400/year at 100 employees is an expense, not a project |
| A previous HRIS rollout failed on manager adoption | Sage HR | You are buying adoption probability — the one argument that survives a CFO |
| Finance already runs Sage accounting | Sage HR | Existing vendor route, existing advocate, portfolio fit |
| Timesheets are core, with hourly or billable staff | Sage HR | A $4.25 PEPM module carries more weight than tier-included time tracking |
| Core HR and leave only, managers comfortable with software | Zoho People | You would pay a 4.4× premium for polish you stop noticing by month three |
| Under 40 employees | Either | Roughly $840/year apart at 20 people — decide on fit |
| Heading for Premium or Enterprise requirements | Reassess both | Zoho People's transparency advantage disappears in the upper tiers |
| Shift scheduling, expenses or recruitment are must-haves | Get quotes first | Sage HR does not publish these rates; you cannot model the bill |
The clean summary: Zoho People is the correct default at this size, because it is cheap enough to be reversible and adequate for most 20-to-300-person companies. Sage HR is the correct choice when you can name the specific risk you are spending $9,300 a year to reduce — manager adoption, timesheet accuracy, or a finance relationship that makes procurement easy. If you cannot name it, you are buying polish. Polish is a legitimate purchase but a bad default.
What should actually decide it is the two-week concurrent trial described above, with two line managers who chose neither product. That test is worth more than any feature comparison, including this one, because what you are really buying is behaviour change in people who do not care about HR software. Both vendors publish their prices, so you can run that test with your budget already known — a luxury most of the market does not offer, and the reason this pairing is a comparatively low-risk decision either way. For wider context on the alternatives, see our best HRIS systems guide.
Related reading
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Zoho People free, and is the free tier usable?
Zoho People offers five tiers and the lowest is Free. Paid plans start at Essential HR at $1.25 per user per month, with a five-user minimum — so the cheapest paid bill is $6.25 a month, or $75 a year, billed annually. Whether the Free tier is usable depends on limits that should be confirmed directly; treat it as a way to evaluate the product rather than a long-term plan for a growing company.
How much does Sage HR actually cost once you add timesheets?
Core HR + Leave Management is $5.50 per employee per month and timesheets adds $4.25, giving $9.75. At 100 employees that is $975 a month, or $11,700 a year. Add performance management at approximately $3.00 and you reach $12.75, or $15,300 a year at the same headcount. That $3.00 performance figure is approximate rather than a confirmed published rate, so get it onto your quote.
Why is my Sage HR quote higher than the price on the website?
Sage HR pricing is region-specific. The same Core HR + Leave Management bundle is listed at $5.50 per employee per month in some regions and $7.50 in others — a 36% difference for identical functionality. Sage also positions plans as starting "from $7" once optional add-ons are included. Always confirm which region's price list your order form references, and get the currency and rate written into the contract.
Can I start on Zoho People and move to Sage HR later?
Yes, and at this size the switching cost is mostly your own time rather than a fee. The practical constraint is timing: migrate at the start of a leave year rather than mid-year, because reconciling partial accrual balances twice is the most error-prone part of any HRIS move. Note also that Zoho People's published rates bill annually, so plan the switch to land at a renewal date rather than partway through a term.
Is Zoho People good enough for a 250-person company?
On capability, generally yes — 250 employees sits well within the range this product serves, and Professional at $2.00 per user per month costs $500 a month or $6,000 a year. The risk at that size is not features, it is adoption across a larger manager population and support responsiveness when something breaks during a busy period. Test both with real managers before committing, since annual billing means buying a full year.
Which is better if I only need core HR and leave management?
Zoho People, on pure economics. At 100 employees Sage HR Core HR + Leave Management is $550 a month against Zoho People Essential HR at $125 — a 4.4× premium for a requirement both products cover. Sage HR only becomes the better answer if you expect to add timesheets, expenses, shift scheduling or recruitment later, or if manager adoption has already failed once and you are paying to reduce that specific risk.